Light Up My Life

Last week I spent three days learning how to make lampshades. I know what you’re thinking: how can you spend three whole days making a simple lampshade? I mean, it’s nothing special. Of course you’re right, but there is actually quite a lot of skill and technique involved in making one properly. Yes, you could glue it all in place, but then you can’t make so much as a single change without starting over. This way, I could easily change my trim and not have to recover the whole shade. Either way, this is what I ended up with after 3 days and I am quite proud, so I am showing off in public! If you want to learn how to make a proper lampshade using traditional techniques, the course I took was at West Dean and the tutor was Ruth de Fraga Gomes (find her through the West Dean site or via Pinterest: LampshadeRuth); I learnt so much and would thoroughly recommend it xx