Indian Potato Wedges

You know when you have a glut of something? Well, for me recently it has been potatoes. I keep forgetting I have them and start making something before I realise I should really use them up and try to figure out how I can fit them in to whatever I have started on. Usually it doesn’t work at all and I give up and tell myself I will use them tomorrow, but the other day I got lucky. I’d already defrosted a curry I’d made a while back and I thought about those horrible, fluorescent yellow potatoes, dripping in oil that sometimes accompany curry in school dining rooms. Then I thought about lime pickle and how I never have anything to eat with it. A short leap of the imagination took me to Indian-spiced potato wedges with lime pickle and curry for supper and I am so glad it did. Delicious.

Ingredients

2/3 potatoes

Turmeric

Garlic

Dried chillies

Salt & pepper

Dried oregano

Paprika

Fennel seeds

1 veg. stock cube

1 bay leaf

Olive oil

 

Method

Scrub the potatoes, put them in a saucepan and just cover with cold water. Bring to the boil and allow to simmer for 8-10 minutes. You should be able to stick a knife into them but there should be some resistance. Drain and allow to steam dry. Preheat the oven to max.

Meanwhile, gently warm a couple of tablespoons of oil. you can do this in the microwave or on the hob, whichever you prefer, just don’t let it get too hot. You want it to be about the temperature of a really nice bath. Finely chop a clove of garlic and add it to the oil with the rest of the spices. Go with your gut as far as proportions go but I used about a teaspoon of turmeric to a half teaspoon of everything else and 1 small dried chilli, crumbled in. If you’re going to eat these with lime pickle and curry, which I thoroughly recommend, remember that the curry and pickle will be spicy on their own so watch how much chilli you add here. Give it all a good stir and set aside to infuse for a couple of minutes.

When the potatoes are dry and cool enough to handle, chop them into wedges and toss them in the oil. Lay them on a baking sheet covered with foil, making sure they are in one layer. Bake for 20-30 minutes, turning halfway though cooking so they get really crispy on both sides.

Serve with a curry and lashings of lime pickle xx

Tip: when I reheat a curry that’s been in the freezer I always add a squeeze of lemon juice, somehow it just peps up all the flavours.

Leave a Reply

