The Most Savoury Pizza Ever

For a while I’ve been seeing recipes for potato pizza. I can’t say I was entirely convinced, I thought it was going to be a carb-overload even by my standards. Being dubious hasn’t stopped me yet though, so I gave it my best shot. I am entirely converted: it was wonderfully warming and delicately flavoured. I always keep a few pizza bases in my freezer, made using Jamie Oliver’s recipe, rolled out and separated with foil.

Ingredients

1 pizza base

Olive oil

A few cloves of garlic

Smoked paprika

1 bay leaf

1 red onion

2 potatoes

Dried oregano

Balsamic vinegar

Cheese

 

Method

Boil the potatoes until cooked through. Preheat the oven to max. Crush or finely chop the garlic and put it in a small bowl with a good glug of oil. Add the bay leaf, a sprinkle of oregano and a good pinch of paprika. I’m not giving specific quantities as I find it’s better to go with your gut, so feel free to add more of what you fancy and if you don’t have something you can always leave it out or substitute a different herb/spice. You can make this in advance as the flavours will develop over time but it is also delicious if you use it straight away.

Once the potatoes are cooked, roughly chop the onion and sauté it in a few spoonfuls of the oil. Spread the remaining oil over the pizza base, discarding the bay leaf but making sure to get all the bits of garlic and herb. Slice the potatoes and lay them on top of the oil. When the onion starts to soften sprinkle it over the potatoes and drizzle with a little vinegar. Grate over some cheese and bake it in the middle of the oven for about 15 minutes or until the crust is golden xx

Leave a Reply

